We are proud to announce that the following speakers will be joining us for the 2019 Safe Streets Summit!


Secretary Anthony Foxx

17th United States Secretary Of Transportation & Chief Policy Officer At LYFT

Anthony Foxx is the Chief Policy Officer at Lyft who formerly served as the 17th United States Secretary of Transportation and as mayor of Charlotte, North Carolina. As Chief Policy Officer at ride-sharing powerhouse Lyft, he works to develop government partnerships and serves as adviser to Lyft's president and CEO. Called “the Great Connector” as a result of his efforts to update, streamline, optimize, and digitize the nation’s transportation system, Sec. discusses the American transportation system, innovation, and coalition building.


Emiko Atherton

Director of National Complete Streets Coalition at Smart Growth America

Emiko Atherton is the Director of the National Complete Streets Coalition, a program of Smart Growth America. As the Director, Emiko oversees the Coalition’s federal advocacy, communications, research, and technical assistance programs. She uses her expertise in transportation policy, public health, land use, economic development, and legislation to consult with communities across the United States on how to create better transportation networks.


Ryan Dorsey

City Council Member Of Baltimore City

Ryan Dorsey is the City Councilman for Baltimore's 3rd District. Elected in 2016, his accomplishments include passing a landmark Complete Streets ordinance which codifies strong equity provisions and certain NACTO design standards, amending Baltimore's fire code to permit safe street design, and increasing bus lane and bus stop parking fines. A graduate of the Peabody Conservatory, his other policy focuses include supporting Baltimore's thriving art scene and promoting equitable and inclusive urban development.

Ashley Hand

Co-Founder Of CityFi

Ashley Z. Hand, AIA, LEED AP BD+C is co-founder of CityFi, advising all sectors on the future of cities in a rapidly changing world. Ashley previously served as the LADOT Transportation Technology Strategist where she authored Urban Mobility in a Digital Age, a strategy that defines public policy, organizational change, and pilot initiatives to enable the city to shape a vision of the future that works for all Angelenos in an era of shared mobility and autonomous vehicles.

Kyle Wagenschutz

Director of Local Innovation at PeopleForBikes

Since 2016, Kyle has led the PlacesForBikes program, the PeopleForBikes program that helps quickly build and connect great places to ride. He spent more than a decade advocating for better biking in Memphis, TN serving as the Director of Revolutions Community Bicycle Shop, Vice President of Bike Walk Tennessee, and as the first Bicycle and Pedestrian Program Manager for the City of Memphis. He was recognized by the Obama Administration in 2015 as a Champion of Change for his work in Memphis and honored at a White House ceremony.

Paul White

Director Of Safety Policy And Advocacy At Bird

Paul Steely White is the Director of Safety Policy and Advocacy at Bird, where he works with cities to reduce traffic congestion and carbon emissions by providing people with a safe, affordable, and environmentally friendly alternative to cars. From 2004 - 2018, Paul was Executive Director of Transportation Alternatives. Prior to joining T.A., Paul worked for seven years as projects director for the Institute for Transportation and Development policy. In 2011, Mr. White was selected to receive the Rockefeller Foundation's Jane Jacobs Medal.

Jeffrey Wood

Principal of The Overhead Wire

Jeff Wood is the owner of The Overhead Wire. The company's focus is sharing information about cities around the world with advocates, elected leaders, researchers, and other interested parties. Projects include podcasts, newsletters, and urban cartography and data analysis.

Previous to The Overhead Wire Jeff spent 8 years as the New Media Director/Chief Cartographer at Reconnecting America and the Center for TOD. He has a BA in Geography and a MS in Community and Regional Planning from the University of Texas at Austin.